Jacob’s Story: “The Day That Changed My Life”

picture of Jacob in Thailand

Jacob in Thailand

Over two hundred orphaned children from Thailand have come home to loving families since WACAP began its work there in 1982. Jacob is one of these children, and he recently told us about how much a family meant to him.

Below is a passage from Jacob’s story. And here’s his hope: that he can help others see the difference adoption can make for a child who still needs a family, that he can help another child find a home.

Thank you, Jacob, for sharing about the gift of family.

The Day That Changed My Life 

          I have been in the orphanage for over 4 and 1/2 years, and I am finally getting adopted! On March 11, 2000, a baby was born in Bangkok, Thailand in a hospital called The Thai Red Cross. His mother abandoned him there at the hospital. The nurses tried to find her but she disappeared into thin air. That baby was me. So, they took me to the nearest orphanage. There, I was given the name Wasin, which means the one who has power. Throughout the years I spent in the orphanage, my friend Wat and I would help out with the babies at the orphanage. Wat and I were buddies. When I wasn’t taking care of the kids, I would wait and wish for a family. I saw other kids getting adopted and I couldn’t help but think, “When will I have a family of my own?” If you were a orphan and you were wanting a family, how would you feel just waiting there at the orphanage? …          

       Jacob wearing casts and wearing a smile   The day I was adopted was the best day of my life! It was a blazing sunny day on February 4, 2005. I was sitting on the wood floor, with my legs in a “W” shape, waiting for something to happen. Abruptly, I heard commotion coming from the front door. I crawled over to see what it was. The reason I crawled is because I have Cerebral Palsy, and that was before I could walk. Then, I saw a couple arrive along with an older person. This was my Dad, Mom, and Granny Jude, but I didn’t know that yet. I thought they were here for someone else. Was I ever wrong!  They were here for me! One of them came over to me and asked, “How would you like to come home with us, Wasin?” In my mind I said, “How does she now my name?”  They played with me for the whole day.

          At night, they had to go back to their hotel. That night I could not go to sleep because I wondered if they would come back for me. If they did not come back, I would have a hard time trusting people again. However, they did come back the next day. That day, I got to go into the playroom with them. I was given a sucker that tasted like a banana! My Dad playfully tried to take my sucker away from me. I also played legos with my Mom and Dad. They came one last time before I had my good-bye party.  Then, on February 9, we went before the Adoption Board to get my adoption approved. I do not remember what else happened. We spent four more days in Bangkok, Thailand before we headed to my new home. On February 13, we started our trip to the U.S.  I felt sad leaving my friend, Wat, but I was also glad that I now had a home and a family. …      

picture of Jacob with his parents, two sisters, and brother

A Day With Family! Jacob (left front) with his siblings Lily Chan, Jackson, Laurel and his parents Eric and Elanna

          Because of the adoption, I have a brother, two sisters, a mom, a dad, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, and friends who love me and care for me. … 

About WACAP

WACAP (World Association for Children and Parents) is one of the largest and most experienced international nonprofit adoption and child assistance agencies in the United States. Since 1976, we’ve placed over 10,000 children with loving adoptive parents and provided food, medical care and education to more than 200,000 children around the world.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Adoption Washington, International Adoption and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jacob’s Story: “The Day That Changed My Life”

  1. Kam says:

    We love you, Jacob! You are such a blessing to Team Roberts!

Leave a Reply

