“Woven Into Our Family”: Reflections After Eight Months Home

Earlier this year, WACAP welcomed Ramya home and celebrated with her parents, Jamie and David, as well as her brand new brother and sister.

Ramya, adopted from India through WACAP, has spent a spring, summer and now fall in her new home. And her parents are amazed with each passing season at how blessed their family is with this little girl in their lives. 

WACAP family of five sitting together

The Whole Family Together

A Note From Ramya’s Mom

Ramya has been home with us for about eight months now, and I still look at her in awe and disbelief that she is finally home. At the same time, though, it feels as though she has been here with us all of her life.

WACAP family smiles in front of Disneyland roller coaster

Magic Moments at Disneyland’s “The Magic Kingdom”

We read so many different books on adoption to try and prepare for her arrival, yet we had no idea what it would feel like to welcome a 5-year-old, from another country, into our home. While the books we read did help us prepare for different scenarios we may encounter and did provide practical and effective strategies for building attachment, they didn’t prepare us for the immense amount of love we would feel for her.

WACAP family smiles beside Disney character, Goofy

Enjoying the Characters

Through the waiting, anticipation, prayers, tears, and advocacy we went through before she even came home, we began to bond and attach. We fell in love.

Though she didn’t grow in my womb, she grew inside our hearts and quickly became woven in to our family. As with anything in life, there are harder moments and easier ones, however, Ramya is such a blessing to our family, and we are honored to call her daughter. 

About WACAP

WACAP (World Association for Children and Parents) is one of the largest and most experienced international nonprofit adoption and child assistance agencies in the United States. Since 1976, we’ve placed over 10,000 children with loving adoptive parents and provided food, medical care and education to more than 200,000 children around the world.
This entry was posted in Adoption, International Adoption, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Woven Into Our Family”: Reflections After Eight Months Home

  1. Shawna says:

    Hi! Congrats!!! I have a couple photos of your daughter from my visits there to spend time with my daughter, Preethi, before bringing her home. Please add me as a friend in FB and I will gladly send them to you!!!
    Shawna

    • Jamie Veprek says:

      Shawna- That would be amazing, I would love them!! I would like to add you but need a last name. If you can please e-mail me, that would be wonderful! My e-mail address is jamie_lugo@hotmail.com. I also created a family support group for those that have adopted from Vathsalya if you would like to connect there (https://www.facebook.com/groups/vathsalya/). Thank you again!

      • shawna davis says:

        Hi Jamie –
        Shawna Davis…sorry I forgot my last name 🙂 That’s interesting…my daughter, Preethi, was from Ashraya Children’s Home in Bangalore…not Vathsalya? But I know your daughter…I have pictures of her. Was she switched between orphanages? Now I am curious…? Let me know…

Leave a Reply

