Where I’m From

lolaEdited010MA29608486-0003

Lola was adopted from China through WACAP at 16 months. Today she’s a busy and talented 11 year old who, between piano lessons, language classes and dance performances, finds time to show off her cooking skills and prepare meals for her family and friends. Lola wowed us with her ballet performance at the 2013 Children’s Hope Auction, and recently impressed us again with this original poem. Thank you to Lola and her family for sharing!

Where I’m From

By Lola

I am from the black and white ivory keys,
Listening to the sweet melody while my fingers are dancing across the keys
Waiting for my ears to hear DING,
The signal that I’m done

I am from leaping and jumping across the floor,
Going from one corner to the next
Holding strong until the end of class,
Curtseying to the piano teacher

I am from the kitchen,
Searching through all of the pots and pans looking for the right pan to do the job
Sticking my head in every cabinet and drawer looking for just the right ingredients
Turning on the front burner and putting everything in the pan

I am from learning totally new words,
All the way from Ni hao to Zai jian
Learning new words each class,
Practicing with my teacher every class I have

I am from having fun all the time,
Whether it is spending time with family, friends, or playing with the cat
Always deciding what to do late that day with family
Chasing the cat around the house losing my breath

I am from my life
And that’s what makes me unique

Lola dances at the 2013 Children's Hope Auction

Lola dances at the 2013 Children’s Hope Auction

About WACAP

WACAP (World Association for Children and Parents) is one of the largest and most experienced international nonprofit adoption and child assistance agencies in the United States. Since 1976, we’ve placed over 10,000 children with loving adoptive parents and provided food, medical care and education to more than 200,000 children around the world.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Adoption Washington, Art, International Adoption and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

