Being Thankful

By Tami Mason Lathrop, WACAP Bulgaria Program Manager

Tami and her husband on vacation

Tami and her husband on vacation

There are so many things that I am thankful for.  Working in WACAP’s Bulgaria Program, I get to see what goes in to an international adoption, from start to finish.  Within those details, I find myself constantly inspired by the variety of people who make it all possible.

I am thankful for my coworkers; their passion and commitment keeps me motivated to show up every day with energy and drive in my work.  They are a joy to work with, and I can’t imagine doing this job without them. I am thankful for our donors; they help make our work possible and fund grants for families who need assistance.  Their generosity continues to amaze me, and I will always be grateful for their support to WACAP. I am thankful for the families that I work with; their dedication and ability to sort through heaps of paperwork all while waiting to be matched with their child truly amazes me.  Seeing children matched with their families is absolutely the best part of my job.

One family that has particularly inspired me recently is adopting waiting children, a brother and sister from Bulgaria.  This family had entered our program and taken their place on the waiting list, but while waiting they saw these children who needed a family and they just knew that they could be that family. Throughout their adoption, they have continued to take each step in stride, and go beyond the necessary training in order to be prepared for their children.  They work with a therapist who has a background in adoption, making sure they’ll be ready to meet their children’s emotional needs. They participate in workshops, take Bulgarian lessons every week, and were even able to bring a travel printer on their first trip so that the children could have photos of the family together!  As this family waits for their court date so that they can finally go and pick up their children, their strength and willingness to go beyond what is necessary continues to amaze me.

Happy National Adoption Month!  I hope that you get to share the things in your life that you are thankful for.

About WACAP

WACAP (World Association for Children and Parents) is one of the largest and most experienced international nonprofit adoption and child assistance agencies in the United States. Since 1976, we’ve placed over 10,000 children with loving adoptive parents and provided food, medical care and education to more than 200,000 children around the world.
This entry was posted in Adoption, International Adoption, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

