I Choose to Look Up

As you may know, I’m new to the Pacific Northwest – transplanted from Texas. The biggest adjustment hasn’t been the rain but the lack of daylight hours during those first few winter months. Thank God that’s been changing in recent weeks.

For now, my family and I live in a wonderful apartment complex, and though temporary, it’s a nice place to be. Every day, multiple times a day, since the beginning of the year, I have taken my Weimeraner to the dog walk area, as you do in apartment life. Every day, multiple times, in the dark, I have focused my eyes downward, on the drudgery of the clean-up tasks that, well, most dog owners accept as “coming with the territory.”

But then the sun begins to delay its bedtime bit by bit, until you find yourself with daylight hours after work. And one day, when you are once again in the dog walk area, you look up. And your perspective changes. A few days ago was one of those days for me. I looked up, and saw this …

WACAP CEO's photo of Mt. Si with clouds at sunrise

WACAP CEO Greg Eubanks looks up and snaps this perspective-changing photo of Washington’s Mt. Si

It’s all about what you choose to see. This view had been there all the time, hidden by clouds, fog mist and darkness. But it was always there.

As someone who works in adoption, I’m often asked how I resist being pulled into the gloom when I know that there are many children whose lives include a history of trauma, abuse or neglect. “The answer,” I always offer, “is by making the choice to look beyond the trauma to see transformation.”

I don’t see these children only as passive victims of circumstance. Rather, I see the resilience in each of them. I see the hope found in our work to connect those children with families; people who dream of healing a child’s history through commitment over time. Nurture, safety, belonging, commitment. We call it “permanency.” Adoption changes everything. That’s what I look at every day. I look up.


WACAP CEO at orphanage in Africa, children gather smilingAbout WACAP’s CEO, Greg Eubanks: Greg joined WACAP as CEO in December 2014. Serving children and families has been the focus and passion of his 20-year career in nonprofit executive leadership and business administration. With an extensive background in international adoption and foster care, Greg is committed to bringing hope to the children living without a family … and helping them home.

About WACAP

WACAP (World Association for Children and Parents) is one of the largest and most experienced international nonprofit adoption and child assistance agencies in the United States. Since 1976, we’ve placed over 10,000 children with loving adoptive parents and provided food, medical care and education to more than 200,000 children around the world.
This entry was posted in Adoption, From the CEO, Staff/Board Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Choose to Look Up

  1. Stephen Lo says:

    Welcome to Washington State, Greg! May God bless your work at WA CLP.

    • WACAP says:

      Thank you, Stephen — I could not be happier to be in this beautiful state, and working alongside people every day who are dedicated to bringing families together.

      Kind regards,

      Greg Eubanks

Leave a Reply

