Q/A: An Adoptee’s Perspective: “How do I feel about ‘adoption day?’”

Adoption Day. “Gotcha Day.” i Homecoming. It’s a day that many adoptive parents and their children celebrate the day they became a family. And as one WACAP adoptee shares here, it’s also a day that can bring more to the surface. Shedding light on her feelings of joy and loss, Emily tells an important story about adoption day, and her celebration of family alongside the questions about where she belongs.


The anniversary of my adoption—or as my family called it, my “gotcha day,”—I remember being somewhat like an extra birthday. My parents would have a little present for me and I would have cards from different family members. I would go out to lunch or dinner with my family and celebrate me! I LOVED THIS. If you know me, you know I love being the center of attention. But there were also things about the day that I did not share with my family.

As I got older I was better able to express the way I felt to my parents. But growing up, I never wanted to hurt their feelings or push boundaries with them due to feeling conflicted. I never wanted them to feel like I was ungrateful … because I loved them so much!

4-picture collage of post author as young child, one of which includes her adoptive parents.

As a child I remember the days leading up to my “gotcha day.” I was more aware of my adoption around those days. I started to think about my life more than any other normal time. I started to question things and wonder how I would be different if I never left India. I went through all the difficult questions: Why me? What did I do wrong? Will I ever be good enough? When will I feel like I fit in to this world? What would have happened if I weren’t adopted? Who are my biological parents and do I have any bio-siblings?

These questions radiated through my head.

The emotions I faced, and continue to face as an adult, were very hard to process, which is why it was so hard to express these while growing up. When I was younger I would sit in my room and cry. I had books and an Indian flag in my room. I would read the books, stare at the people and cry. I would hold my Indian flag in one hand and my American flag in another. I wasn’t sure what I identified as. I felt loss like no other. I was taken out of one culture and put into another.

My parents did a wonderful job giving me the option to participate in different cultural activities, and I was able to do traditional Indian dance. That experience was amazing, but as I performed for Diwali, I was also looking at all the Indian families and wondering how my life would be if I were with them. Even with this awareness, I was unable to process that loss: I did not have a birth family. I look like no one in my family. I am out of place, and I will always be out of place.

This was the day that I cried for my birth mother. I wanted answers. I wanted to see her and feel her. The way I dealt with this was by acting out and not explaining what was going on. I wanted my parents to understand how much I loved them, but I wanted them to know that I was missing my birth mother, too. I would go through a wave of emotions. (I hated my birth mother. I loved her. I wanted to see her. I wanted to meet her. I didn’t care if I ever saw her. I wanted an answer. I wanted to know if she missed me or thought of me.) These would run through my head on this day. Feeling so confused and conflicted is hard at any age, but imagine a child trying to process these thoughts? It was tough. And it was also something, I learned, I wasn’t alone in feeling.

I have attended WACAP’s family camp for 20+ years and during that time, I have made lifelong friends and family. I grew up with a group of kids that also attended, and we could talk about our experiences, including the complex feelings that came with adoption day anniversaries and celebrations.

From these conversations with my friends when I was younger, to today—as I’m starting to mentor and talk with different adoptees at WACAP’s family events—I know those feelings can remain.

Some adoptees I’ve spoken with did not like the word “gotcha” and the negative connotation it carries, which is true of many families I’ve talked to as well.  Some prefer different terms, like “adoption day” “family day, or have a different approach to celebrating being together.

Some adoptees I’ve asked about “gotcha day”—as they’re open to sharing—say that they too, felt some of the same ways that I did. They would act out and not know what to say to their parents. It was hard to find the right words to explain something so complex.

To this day, it is hard for me to even write about it.

The emotions that I feel continue to overwhelm me. I feel like there is something wrong with my feelings. I should not feel the way I feel because I SHOULD feel happy that I was brought away from a horrible situation. STILL, I cannot help but wonder what my life would be like if I stayed in India.


a selfie of the author, wearing a bright smile after good news

Emily’s selfie and smile spread the news of her acceptance to grad school!

About Emily:
Passionate about supporting adoptive families, Emily Seaborg, WACAP volunteer and adoptee, is currently pursuing her Master’s in Social Work. A long-time participant of WACAP’s family camp, she returns each year for what she calls the “best” weekend: “This is where I connect. This is where I can explain how I feel with others who know what it is like. These people do not judge, and I can share my experiences with others!” As a mentor for adoptees who need a listening ear, Emily also offers a voice of perspective for their parents, helping to bring families closer through understanding and empathy.

I. “Gotcha Day.” Short for the “the day I got you,” the term “gotcha day” is viewed among many in the adoption community to be offensive, while by some, it still used and incorporated into celebrations.“Gotcha Day” was referenced in the 2001 book “Primary Care Pediatrics,” which talked about the importance of a unique, celebratory day for adoptees. The term became more widespread after an adoptive parent working to increase adoption awareness helped establish September 15, 2005 as an international “Gotcha Day.”

With the negative connotations associated with the term “Gotcha Day,” phrases like Adoption Day, Family Day, Homecoming Day, Siblings Day – or celebrations of family that aren’t tied to a child’s adoption – have become more common and preferred.

About WACAP

WACAP (World Association for Children and Parents) is one of the largest and most experienced international nonprofit adoption and child assistance agencies in the United States. Since 1976, we’ve placed over 10,000 children with loving adoptive parents and provided food, medical care and education to more than 200,000 children around the world.
This entry was posted in Adoption FAQ, International Adoption, Reflections, Volunteerism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Q/A: An Adoptee’s Perspective: “How do I feel about ‘adoption day?’”

  1. kobolila says:

    Thank you for your thoughts on this, Tomorrow will be the 2nd anniversary of our Forever Family day. My Lemondrop was 23 months old when we brought her home from China and she remains very much aware of her life before us. She is a very intelligent & sensitive young lady and I worry how she will feel when she realizes that not all children are adopted, get parents the way she did.
    I think that she was relinquished to the State (I hate to think of any child being ‘abandoned’) by her birth parents because of her medical issues, so that she would get the care they couldn’t provide, and I hope someday we will be able to locate them and perhaps help her, and them, find a sense of closure or understanding.

    ❤ ❤

  2. Pingback: An Adoptee’s Perspective: “On Race and Identity” – Part I | WACAP

Leave a Reply

